Tag Archives: Maulana Bhashani


March: Governor Gurmani declares presidential rule in West Pakistan.

May: Sheikh Mujib resigned from the cabinet in response to a resolution of the Party to strengthen the organization by working for it full-time.

June-July: Maulana Bhashani resigns as President of the Awami League; forms the National Awami Party (NAP)


August: Sheikh Mujib went on an official tour of China and the Soviet Union.

October: Suhrawardy lost support in the National Assembly and was forced to resign. Chundrigar is sworn in as the new PM.

December: Malik Feroz Khan Noon replaces Chundrigar as Prime Minister.

An unequal rate of growth between the two wings of the country seems to have been an important feature of economic development since the independence: only one-fifth of large-scale manufacturing is located in East Pakistan after ten years.


Awami Muslim League formed

The “All Pakistan Awami Muslim League” was formed as a breakaway faction of the “All Pakistan Muslim League” in 1949. The word “Muslim” was dropped in 1955. Two parties of the same name were created in Pakistan, one in the then East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) on June 23, 1949 by Maulana Abdul Hameed Khan Bhashani with Sheikh Mujibur Rahman as one of its three initial assistant general secretaries; and the other in the Northwest Frontier Province of the then West Pakistan by Peer Manki Shareef sometime soon after. In February 1950, both were merged, creating the “All Pakistan Awami Muslim League” with Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy as its leader. As the years went by, the Awami League became associated with the oppressed Bangla-speaking majority of the East Pakistan. Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was elected party president in 1966, and the AL gained much popularity through the famous 6 point movement.


* Maulana Bhasani: The Founder of Politics of Opposition and Agitation during the Formative Years of Pakistan – M. Waheeduzzaman Manik (November 2003)
* The Leader of the Oppressed – M. Inamul Haque (November, 2002)
* A Tribute to the Ancestor – Enayetullah Khan (November, 2002)
* The Shadow and the Substance – Enayetullah Khan (January, 1970)